Hello Gorgeous Beautiful Readers,

  Happy New Year! After all the great holidays and spending valuable time with my family it is time for me to head back to school a week early. I am very happy to share amazing news with you. Upon ending the semester I applied to the Huskie Service Scholar program. I received the pleasant news about an hour ago that I was admitted to the program. I can not say how happy I am. this program allows me to continue my dream of becoming a Biomedical Engineer. You see, coming from Chicago Public Schools and being a first generation student it is a dream come true to attend college. At this point I am not receiving any aid other than loans and the map and pell grants. It is hard on my parents but they do their best to help me. I can not thank Rachel and Julia from the office of OSEEL enough for being my helpful angels at NIU. They have given me opportunities that have made my first semester successful. Well, with a new year I have tons of goals. This semester I plan to be as great as my first and hopefully find more ways to help lower my loans. One thing that I do refuse to do is visit our Latino Resource Center, although I have been told time and time again to find scholarships based on ethnicity I refuse. I feel that because I am an underprivileged Hispanic student shouldn’t be reason to fund me. I believe that my work and strong work ethic should be the reason why I receive my merits. Although the LRC is a great office that helps many students like myself, I rather let that help go to someone who is more deserving and that I will work twice as hard for my aid. 

As far as my research goes we are still on break but I have been reading more articles and can not wait to start working as soon as we get back into the semester. I heard from Dr. Horn that my proteins came back from sequencing and that our mutations were successful. That is all for now. Thanks for reading!!!!!! 

 

